Pumpkin pie perfection

3 Nov

Hello blogosphere!

My name is Alison, and I currently reside in Winnipeg. I don’t know how it feels where you are, but it is most certainly, undeniably fall here. And fall really makes me want to do three things:

1) knit

2) drink tea and

3) bake delicious, spicy, wholesome foods

Since this is a blog dedicated to yummy foods made by library folk, I have decided to share my first pumpkin pie baking experience.

It began with me heading to the Organic market; sadly, they didn’t have pumpkins yet, so this baby hails from Superstore.  I brought my orange baby home, and opened my laptop and went right to Martha Stewart’s web site. Regardless of how you may feel about her, one cannot deny the woman is a genius in the kitchen. I also feel her recipes are really easy to follow, and every one I have used has turned out super yum. I grabbed this recipe from her site.

I began poking several holes around my pumpkin, placing it in about an inch of water, and shoving it in the oven. 45 minutes later, I had a steamed pumpkin.

Steamed Pumpkin

Steamed Pumpkin

Next, I cut off the top, peeled off the skin and cut the pumpkin into small chunks. I then used my food processor to mash it up.  It made a LOT of pumpkin puree.  Enough for seven pies and at least two batches of pumpkin cookies (to be made on a later date).

Pumpkin Pieces

Pumpkin Pieces

For the crust, I elected to use the Press In recipe Martha suggested. It’s an easy shortbread crust and it’s super tasty. Though, don’t use a mixer. I tried on my first go (I know I shouldn’t have, I just really wanted to get the crust going) and it pretty much failed. It turned all gooey. The second go around was a lot more successful. The dough was pretty crumbly, which made me concerned that it would end up dry and sandy, but it didn’t. It ended up absorbing moisture from the pie filling.

Press In Shortbread Pie Crust

Press In Shortbread Pie Crust

Next, I began the pie filling. Om nom nom!  I threw together the pumpkin, heavy cream, sugar, vanilla, salt, cinnamon, ginger, allspice, and eggs in a large bowl and whisked it. After tasting it, I thought it needed more allspice and cinnamon.  I added twice as much.

Pumpkin Pie Filling

Pumpkin Pie Filling

Pre-Oven Pumpkin Pie

Pre-Oven Pumpkin Pie

I then stuck the pies in the oven for 60 mins. After pulling them out, I waited about an hour before I gave them a taste. They were pretty good, but the next day they were really good!

Pumpkin Pie Slice

Pumpkin Pie Slice

Overall, this was a very easy, yummy recipe.  My first attempt at pumpkin pie turned out a success! You should note, I made a double recipe, which made seven pies. There were six mighty happy people after I made this. 😉

Hopefully, you’ve enjoyed my post and as Julia would say, Bon appetit! 🙂

Alison Pattern

Check out Alison’s bio on the Contributors page.

Leave a Reply

